Click banner to go to game

Saturday, 19 May 2018

Super Retroids XD Plus Development (sort of)

I've put The Diabolical Cult of Monsters on hold for a little while while I work on Super Retroids XD Plus. 

I actually lost the source code for the original version of Retr0ids, because I didn't make a backup of it, so I'm having to start development from scratch. This is actually a pretty good thing because it's enabled me to make a much more polished game and do a few things better than they were before. The eagle-eyed among you might notice that the .GIF above is not of Retroids, this is a little game I have in development called Asteroid Mining Company, some of the code from which will be used to create the basis for Super Retroids. 

Retr0ids has always been an Asteroids clone at heart, but with some gameplay ideas from Robotron added to mix things up a little bit, so I thought I'd make a more traditional asteroid shooter first to give me the base code for the new version of Retroids later. I'm not sure exactly how or if I'll release Asteroid Mining Company yet, but I'm thinking I'll bundle it together with Super Retroids as a freebie.

Friday, 4 May 2018

Super Retroids XD Plus!

Super Retroids XD Plus front end concept (WIP)

Alongside The Diabolical Cult of Monsters, I'm also working on an updated version of Retr0ids called Super Retroids XD Plus. Details are a bit sketchy at the moment, but it's going to retain pretty much the same basic gameplay as the original game, but with enhanced graphics, sound and level design.

This is currently a side project while I'm working on Monsters, but I'm hoping to have it out on Steam when it's completed. I'll post updates as I work on it.

Tuesday, 24 April 2018

Small tweaks

This week I've been working on some small tweaks and fixes for the current game, so it's another short update for today.

I wasn't 100% happy with the control scheme, so I made a few alterations that make it easier for the player to move and shoot. One of these changes was to fix a bug that kept resetting the firing direction to straight up when you stopped moving, so the player can now stop and keep firing in the direction they last moved, which should make hitting enemies a bit easier. I've also spent some time refining the collision detection for all of the objects, especially the spinning knives as they kept getting stuck at the edge of the screen.

I'm still thinking of doing these updates in video format, but this one was such a short update (and I currently have bad cough) so I didn't think it was really worth it. The first video will likely be a walkthrough of the gameplay from one of my previous games, either Retr0ids or Hyper-Galactic Spiders from Mars.